Case study ZIB100

WhatsApp service for everyday news format

With the ZIB100 the "Zeit im Bild" team of the Austrian Broadcasting Corporation (ORF) developed a compact newscast in a format suitable for smartphones. To enable the daily ZIB100 news to be sent to 40,000 subscribers via WhatsApp, “Zeit im Bild” utilises the WhatsATool solution from atms.

Requirement

Since 25 April 2016, “Zeit im Bild” anchors have presented 100 seconds of compact information under the title ZIB100 at around 5.25 pm every Monday to Friday. The programme is produced in portrait format and all of it is subtitled. ZIB100 can thus be watched on TV using a split screen and on the road on a smartphone on ORF.at, Facebook and Twitter.

In order to reach the mobile users more quickly and directly, ZIB100 is scheduled to be the first Austrian video format to be made available via WhatsApp.

ZIB100

atms Lösung

To enable the daily ZIB100 news to be sent to subscribers via WhatsApp, “Zeit im Bild” utilises the WhatsATool by atms solution developed by atms.

WhatsApp users can register for the service very simply here. As soon as a new edition of the programme is available, the subscribers are automatically notified by means of a push message and can access ZIB100 directly on their smartphone.

Just on the day it was launched (6/6/2016), some 10,000 subscribers signed up for ZIB100 on WhatsApp; after only eight weeks, this number had already risen to 26,000, after less than one year it was 37,000 - trend continues to rise. Within an extremely short time, WhatsApp has thus become the second most frequently used broadcasting channel for ZIB100 – after ORF.at.

However, WhatsApp is not just a broadcasting channel for “Zeit im Bild”, but also a feedback channel. Incoming messages from users are answered regularly – which is also an easy and straightforward function via WhatsATool from atms.

Are you interested in a similar solution? Try WhatsATool by atms for 14 days free of charge.

Created on: 09/01/2016

Case Study ZIB100

WhatsApp-Service für tägliches Nachrichtenformat

Mit der ZIB100 entwickelte das „Zeit im Bild“-Team des Österreichischen Rundfunks (ORF) eine kompakte Nachrichtensendung in Smartphone-tauglichem Bildformat. Um die täglichen ZIB100-News via WhatsApp an 40.000 Abonnenten ausschicken zu können, wird die atms-Lösung WhatsATool verwendet.

Anforderung

Seit 25. April 2016 präsentieren die „Zeit im Bild“-Moderatorinnen und -Modertoren unter dem Titel „ZIB100“ von Montag bis Freitag um ca. 17.25 Uhr 100 Sekunden kompakte Information. Die Sendung wird im Hochformat produziert und zur Gänze untertitelt. So kann die ZIB100 im TV via Split-Screen und auf ORF.at, Facebook und Twitter unterwegs am Smartphone konsumiert werden.

Um die mobilen Userinnen und User noch schneller und direkter zu erreichen, soll die ZIB100 als erstes österreichisches Videoformat auch via WhatsApp verfügbar sein.

ZIB100

atms Lösung

Um via WhatsApp die täglichen ZIB100-News an Abonnenten ausschicken zu können, setzt das Team der „Zeit im Bild“ auf die von atms entwickelte Lösung WhatsATool.

Unter http://orf.at/stories/zib100whatsapp/ können sich WhatsApp-Nutzerinnen und Nutzer unkompliziert für den Service registrieren. Sobald eine neue Ausgabe der Sendung verfügbar ist, werden die Abonnenten automatisch per Push-Nachricht verständigt und können die ZIB100 direkt am Smartphone abrufen.

Alleine am Tag des Starts (6.6.2016) registrierten sich etwa 10.000 Abonnenten für die ZIB100 auf WhatsApp; nach nur acht Wochen waren es bereits 26.000, nach nicht einmal einem Jahr 37.000 - Tendenz weiter steigend. Damit ist WhatsApp für die ZIB100 innerhalb kürzester Zeit zum zweitstärksten Ausspielkanal – nach ORF.at – geworden.

WhatsApp ist für die „Zeit im Bild“ aber nicht nur Ausspiel-, sondern auch Feedback-Kanal. Eingehende Nachrichten von Userinnen und Usern werden regelmäßig beantwortet – auch dies ist einfach und übersichtlich über WhatsATool von atms möglich.

Sind Sie an einer ähnlichen Lösung interessiert? Testen Sie WhatsATool by atms 14 Tage kostenlos!

Case Study erstellt am: 1.9.2016