Case study Sonnenhofspital

Accompanying studies with voice SMS into the landline network

Reliable, solution-orientated partners in the communication process are essential to conduct scientific studies at Sonnenhofspital hospital, Switzerland. In particular, reminding the study participants reliably to perform necessary activities is a major factor for a study to be successful. websms provided the private hospital with a solution which enables both the young target group to be notified effectively via mobile phone and the older study participants over landlines.

“We use websms to remind all study participants reliably of their nasal swabs by means of SMS. If a participant does not have a mobile phone, they are reminded via landline using a voice SMS. We were particularly impressed by this additional function.”

5 Sterne für atms

Dr. med. Jan Brügger, Deputy Chief Physician / Senior Consultant for Internal Medicine and Nephrology

Requirement

For ongoing studies, Sonnenhofspital was looking for an option of reminding participants reliably of when nasal swabs needed to be taken and when they needed to begin with prophylactic measures before an operation.

In addition to reliable transmission, one major requirement for Dr. Brügger was to reach the older group, some of whom do not have a mobile phone. This could not be achieved solely by sending SMSs. “In particular older participants who frequently only have a landline connection or are not familiar with SMS need to be reminded reliably. But calling each person individually would overtax our resources.”

Ultimately it was the wish of the Senior Consultant to make a easy-to-use reminder tool available to his staff.

atms Solution

With online SMS and its integrated SMS2Voice functionality websms, it was possible to satisfy all the requirements of Sonnenhofspital effectively:

Tests enabled the transmission reliability to be ensured. Furthermore, Dr. Brügger praised the simple handling and the option of planning transmission in advance as a way to relieve the workload enormously. “It is also an extremely cost-effective option for reminding people,” adds the Senior Consultant.

However, the primary success criterion for reminding the study participants is the integrated SMS2Voice functionality of online SMS: websms automatically converts SMSs to voice messages when a landline number is stored for a participant. “This makes our work easier because we don’t have to manually call participants who don’t have a mobile – SMS2Voice does this for us automatically,” says Dr. Brügger of the free add-on function.

Summing up, the Deputy Chief Physician confirms that using online SMSs to remind the patients ensures that they take nasal swabs and perform prophylactic measures on schedule. This enabled the compliance of the patients to be significantly increased.

Are you interested in a similar sulution? Test our business messaging Tool websms free of charge!

Created on: 01/23/2017

Case Study Sonnenhofspital

Mit Sprach-SMS ins Festnetz Studien begleiten

Die Durchführung wissenschaftlicher Studien im Schweizer Sonnenhofspital setzt verlässliche, lösungsorientierte Partner im Kommunikationsprozess voraus. Insbesondere die zuverlässige Erinnerung von Studienteilnehmern an die Durchführung notwendiger Handlungen ist ein wesentlicher Faktor für Studienerfolge. websms stellte dem Privatspital eine Lösung zur Verfügung, mit der sowohl die junge Zielgruppe am Mobiltelefon als auch ältere Studienteilnehmer am Festnetz effektiv notifiziert werden können.

„Über websms erinnern wir alle Studienteilnehmer zuverlässig per SMS an ihre Nasenabstriche. Besitzt ein Teilnehmer kein Mobiltelefon, wird er via Sprach-SMS sogar im Festnetz erinnert. Diese Zusatzfunktion hat uns besonders begeistert.“

5 Sterne für atms

Dr. Jan Brügger, Stv. Chefarzt / Leitender Arzt Innere Medizin und Nephrologie

Anforderung

Das Sonnenhofspital war für aktuelle Studien auf der Suche nach einer Möglichkeit der zuverlässigen Erinnerung von Studienteilnehmern, wann Nasenabstriche vorgenommen und wann mit Vorbeugungsmaßnahmen vor einer Operation begonnen werden musste.
 
Eine wesentliche Anforderung, neben der Zuverlässigkeit im Versand, war für Dr. Brügger das Erreichen der älteren Zielgruppe, die mitunter kein Mobiltelefon besitzen. Ein Anspruch, der mit reinem SMS-Versand nicht abgedeckt werden konnte. „Gerade ältere Teilnehmer, die häufig nur über einen Festnetzanschluss verfügen oder mit dem Medium SMS nicht vertraut sind, bedürfen einer zuverlässigen Erinnerung. Das Anrufen jedes Einzelnen würde allerdings unsere Ressourcen sprengen.“
 
Letztlich war es auch der Wunsch des leitenden Arztes, seinen Mitarbeitern ein Erinnerungs-Tool zur Verfügung zu stellen, das einfach in der Handhabung ist.

atms Lösung

Mit der websms WebApp und dessen integrierter SMS2Voice-Funktionalität gelang es uns, alle Anforderungen des Sonnenhofspitals effektiv abzudecken:

Die Zuverlässigkeit im Versand konnte bei Tests bereits sichergestellt werden. Des Weiteren lobt Dr. Brügger die einfache Handhabung sowie die Möglichkeit der Versand-Planung vorab als enorme Arbeitserleichterungen. „Außerdem ist es eine sehr kostengünstige Option der Erinnerung“, fügt der leitende Arzt hinzu.

Das primäre Erfolgskriterium für die Erinnerung der Studienteilnehmer ist aber die integrierte SMS2Voice-Funktionalität: durch die WebApp werden SMS automatisch in Sprachnachrichten umgewandelt, sobald bei einem Teilnehmer eine Festnetznummer hinterlegt ist. „Dies bedeutet für uns insofern eine Arbeitserleichterung, da wir Teilnehmer, die kein Mobiltelefon besitzen, nicht extra anrufen müssen – dies übernimmt SMS2Voice automatisch für uns“, freut sich Dr. Brügger über die kostenlose Zusatzfunktion.
 
Resümierend stellte der stellvertretende Chefarzt fest, dass durch die Erinnerung der Patienten mittels websms die Patienten die Nasenabstriche und Vorbeugungsmaßnahmen zeitnah durchführen. Die Compliance der Patienten konnte dadurch wesentlich gesteigert werden.

Sind Sie an einer ähnlichen Lösung interessiert? Testen Sie unser Business Messaging-Tool websms kostenlos!

Case Study erstellt am: 23.01.2017