Case study PayLife

Diverse SMS service for greater card transaction security

As the Austrian market leader in card payments, PayLife is a successful interface between cardholders, financial institutions and contracting parties. A comprehensive SMS service was implemented in cooperation with atms in order to provide customers with an enhanced service when they make cashless payments by card.

Requirement

 Cashless payments by card are very popular in Austria, be it with a Maestro debit card or PayLife credit and prepaid cards. A versatile SMS solution was sought to enhance the card-based payment service for cardholders. Practically every cardholder also owns a mobile phone, allowing them to access information anytime, anywhere, e.g. even when abroad.

atms was charged with the step-by-step implementation of the following services for PayLife:

  1. Registration: the cardholder registers for the SMS service via the portal www.kreditkarte.at and receives a confirmation SMS on their mobile phone.
     
  2. Balance enquiry: the cardholder sends an SMS to PayLife and receives an SMS reply on their mobile phone specifying their current balance.
     
  3. Statement notification: the cardholder can also be notified of new statements by SMS rather than just by email as was the case before.

atms Solution

There are two main elements to the service provided by atms: messages are first created in PayLife's SMS centre and forwarded to atms within a secured environment. atms ensures that the messages are delivered to the right cardholders. Incoming customer texts are, in turn, forwarded by atms to the PayLife customer portal at www.kreditkarte.at.

The connection to every Austrian network operator as well as the two redundant data centres operated by atms allowed a high-availability solution to be developed which continues to work reliably even in the event of the loss of a component or a network operator. In the event of a problem, atms operates a 24h support service for PayLife, providing rapid response to all change or enhancement requests.

atms also implemented the active retrieval of SMS messages for PayLife, which is achieved using a virtual mobile number (VT number). This ensures that SMS can be sent to this VT number from all mobile telephones, e.g. including foreign ones. The reception rate is not limited either, as would be the case with a real mobile. Outgoing messages are sent with the sender ID “PAYLIFEBANK”, making them easily recognizable.

Are you interested in a similar solution? Get more infos about our text messaging services:

Created on: 12/17/2009

Case Study PayLife

Vielfältiges SMS-Service für mehr Sicherheit bei Karten-Transaktionen

Als heimischer Marktführer für das Bezahlen mit Karte fungiert PayLife erfolgreich als Schnittstelle zwischen Karteninhabern, Geldinstituten und Vertragspartnern. Um den Service bei der bargeldlosen Bezahlung mit Karte für die Kunden zu erhöhen, wurde durch die Zusammenarbeit mit atms ein umfassendes SMS-Service verwirklicht.

Anforderung

Das bargeldlose Bezahlen mit Karte, sei es mit der Maestro Bankomatkarte oder den PayLife Kredit- und Prepaid-Karten, steht in Österreich hoch im Kurs. Um das Service bei kartenbasierten Zahlungen für die Karteninhaber zu erhöhen, sollte eine vielseitige SMS-Lösung realisiert werden. So gut wie jeder Karteninhaber besitzt auch ein Handy, Informationen können so zu jeder Zeit und an jedem Ort, z.B. auch im Ausland, abgerufen werden.

Folgende Services sollten von atms schrittweise für PayLife umgesetzt werden:

 

  1. Registrierung: Der Karteninhaber meldet sich über das Portal www.kreditkarte.at zum SMS-Service an und erhält eine Bestätigungs-SMS auf sein Handy.
     
  2. Kontostandsabfrage: Der Karteninhaber schickt eine SMS an PayLife und erhält eine Antwort-SMS mit dem aktuellen Saldo auf sein Handy.
     
  3. Rechnungsbenachrichtigung: Statt wie bisher nur per E-Mail kann der Karteninhaber auch per SMS über neue Rechnungen informiert werden.

atms Lösung

Die Abwicklung der Services erfolgt zweigeteilt: Im SMS-Center der PayLife werden die Nachrichten erstellt und in einer abgesicherten Umgebung an atms weitergeleitet. atms sorgt für die punktgenaue Zustellung an die Karteninhaber. Eingehende Kunden-SMS werden wiederum von atms an das PayLife-Kundenportal auf www.kreditkarte.at übermittelt.

Durch die Anbindung zu allen österreichischen Netzbetreibern und den beiden redundanten Rechenzentren der atms war es möglich, eine hoch verfügbare Lösung zu erstellen, die bei Ausfall einer Komponente bzw. eines Netzbetreibers weiterhin zuverlässig funktioniert. Für den Störfall bietet atms der PayLife einen 24h-Support mit einer unbürokratischen, schnellen Reaktion auf alle Änderungs- oder Ergänzungswünsche.

Das aktive Abrufen einer SMS wurde von atms ebenfalls für PayLife realisiert und wird über eine virtuelle Handynummer (VT-Nummer) abgewickelt. Dadurch ist sichergestellt, dass von allen Mobiltelefonen, z.B. auch ausländischen, SMS an diese VT-Nummer gesendet werden können. Auch die Empfangsrate ist nicht limitiert, wie das etwa bei einem „echten” Handy der Fall wäre. Ausgehende Nachrichten werden mit dem Absender „PAYLIFEBANK” verschickt und sind so leicht erkennbar.

Sind Sie an einer ähnlichen Lösung interessiert? atms liefert maßgeschneiderte Business SMS-Lösungen!

Case Study erstellt am: 17.12.2009