Case study AK Wien

Appointment reminder solution on SMS-to-email basis

In order to reduce the number of appointments not kept at the Arbeiterkammer Wien (Vienna Chamber of Labour) and enable them to be re-assigned quickly, atms was tasked with providing an appointment reminder solution on SMS-to-email basis. This new service has facilitated a significant reduction in non-attendance of about 20%.

Requirement

Every week the AK Wien arranges some 1,000 half-hour appointments with employees seeking advice. However, around 20 per cent of appointments are not kept, with no prior notification of cancellation. This results in considerable costs due to periods of non-productivity.

The AK Wien was therefore looking for a way of sending a simple and cost-effective appointment reminder to its clients in order to reduce the high level of non-attendance.

atms Solution

Working together with the AK, an appointment reminder system was implemented on SMS-to-email basis. atms programmed an easy-to-use web interface for the AK, via which the clients’ appointment-relevant data is transmitted to atms by means of file uploads.

48 hours prior to the appointment, a reminder SMS is automatically generated in the atms network infrastructure and sent to the relevant AK clients via a direct link to all Austrian mobile network operators.

The following is an example of an appointment reminder SMS:
“Appointment reminder from AK Wien! Please reply with NO if you cannot keep your appointment at 11.30 on 04/03/2011. Thank you for your assistance!”

If a client replies “No” by SMS, the mobile number is compared against the data stored in the database, triggering an automated email to a previously designated AK official.

Use of the atms solution facilitated a significant reduction of the non-attendance rate of around 20 per cent within a short period of time. With the AK advisors’ workload now being managed more effectively, any appointments that are freed up can be re-assigned more quickly to others seeking advice. This ensures improved service quality for AK clients and significantly reduced internal costs.

Meanwhile, the appointment reminder solution is in three different departments at the AK Wien in use as well as in the AK NÖ and the AK Kärnten.

Are you interested in a similar solution? Get more infos about our text messaging services:

Created on: 04/05/2011

Case Study AK Wien

Terminerinnerungs-Lösung auf SMS-to-eMail-Basis

Um nicht wahrgenommene Beratungstermine bei der Arbeiterkammer Wien zu reduzieren und rasch neu vergeben zu können, wurde atms mit einer Terminerinnerungslösung auf SMS-to-eMail-Basis beauftragt. Durch das neue Service konnte die Abwesenheitsquote von rund 20 Prozent wesentlich verringert werden.

Anforderung

Pro Woche vereinbart die Arbeiterkammer Wien rund 1.000 halbstündige Termine mit ratsuchenden Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmern. Rund 20 Prozent nehmen ihren Termin ohne vorherige Absage jedoch nicht wahr. Das hat erhebliche Kosten durch Leerläufe zur Folge.

Die AK Wien suchte daher eine Möglichkeit, eine einfache und kostengünstige Terminerinnerung an ihre Klientinnen und Klienten zu versenden, um so die hohe Abwesenheitsquote zu reduzieren.

atms Lösung

Gemeinsam mit der Arbeiterkammer wurde eine Terminerinnerungs-Lösung auf SMS-to-eMail-Basis entwickelt. atms hat für die AK ein einfach bedienbares Webinterface programmiert, über welches mittels Datei-Upload terminrelevante Daten der Klientinnen und Klienten an atms übermittelt werden.

48 Stunden vor dem Termin wird automatisch eine Terminerinnerungs-SMS in der Netzinfrastruktur von atms generiert und ‒ via Direktanbindung zu allen österreichischen Mobilfunkbetreibern ‒ an die betreffenden AK-Kunden versendet.

So sieht die Terminerinnerungs-SMS beispielsweise aus:
„Terminerinnerung der AK Wien! Bitte antworten Sie mit NEIN, wenn Sie den Termin am 04.03.2011 um 11:30 nicht wahrnehmen können. Vielen Dank für Ihre Mithilfe!“

Sollte nun ein Kunde per SMS mit „Nein“ antworten, wird die Handynummer mit den in der Datenbank gespeicherten Daten abgeglichen und ein automatisiertes E-Mail an einen vorab definierten AK-Sachbearbeiter weitergeleitet.

Durch den Einsatz der atms-Lösung konnte die Abwesenheitsquote von rund 20 Prozent innerhalb kurzer Zeit wesentlich verringert werden (einstellige Prozentzahl). Durch die nunmehr besser gesteuerte Auslastung der AK-Berater können die freigewordenen Termine rascher an andere Ratsuchende vergeben werden. Dadurch erhöht sich die Servicequalität für AK-Kunden und die internen Kosten werden deutlich gesenkt.

Inzwischen ist die Terminerinnerungs-Lösung bei der AK Wien in drei verschiedenen Abteilungen im Einsatz sowie auch bei der AK Niederösterreich und der AK Kärnten.

Sind Sie an einer ähnlichen Lösung interessiert? atms liefert maßgeschneiderte Business SMS-Lösungen!

Case Study erstellt am: 04.05.2011